#33-PERSEPOLIS

The 365 Day Graphic Novel Challenge

PERSEPOLIS

Writer/Artist: Marjane Satrapi

Random House, 2003

persepolis_cover_bigThis is one of those books that I’ve always known about but never actually read.  I don’t tend to be a big fan of autobiographical comics to begin with and, as a 51 year old white male, I doubted that I would be able to connect with the childhood of an Iranian girl.

At times I can be, in the parlance of my then 3 year old nephew, “a lobster poo-poo pee-pee head”.

Although I can no more identify with the struggles of a young Iranian girl than my cat can identify with my own personal struggles, PERSEPOLIS is that type of narrative that transcends race, gender and culture and illuminates the basic human struggle of us all.

Told from her point of view, it is the story of Satrapi growing up in Iran and enduring the Shah’s reign and then the ‘cultural…

View original post 246 more words

About Sam Gafford
My name is Sam Gafford and I've been doing critical work on William Hope Hodgson for many years. I wrote the article "Writing Backwards: The Novels of William Hope Hodgson" in which I presented evidence that WHH wrote his novels in the reverse order in which they were published. I've recently written an article on Hodgson's confrontation with Houdini and am currently working on a book length study of WHH.

Leave a Reply

