#7-HELLBOY: DARKNESS CALLS

The 365 Day Graphic Novel Challenge

HELLBOY: DARKNESS CALLS

Writer: Mike Mignola

Artist: Duncan Fegredo

Dark Horse, 2008

JAN080090_largeAs much as I enjoy Mignola’s work (and the universe he’s created) one of the problems I’ve always had with it is that I never know what the proper order in which to read them.  I didn’t buy the individual issues as they came out and Mignola’s (or Dark Horse’s) method of creating new titles with each new story line makes it even more confusing.  I’ve noticed recently that Dark Horse has started numbering B.P.R.D. issues so that’s a bit of a help but not so much going back.

Anyway, looking at the book’s spine, I see that this is TPB # 8 whereas yesterday’s TPB was #1 so obviously many things have happened in-between.  I picked this one because of the big yellow sticker on the cover that saws “Now a major motion picture Hellboy II: The Golden Army” so I thought that this…

View original post 248 more words

About Sam Gafford
My name is Sam Gafford and I've been doing critical work on William Hope Hodgson for many years. I wrote the article "Writing Backwards: The Novels of William Hope Hodgson" in which I presented evidence that WHH wrote his novels in the reverse order in which they were published. I've recently written an article on Hodgson's confrontation with Houdini and am currently working on a book length study of WHH.

Leave a Reply

