#5–RED ROCKET 7

The 365 Day Graphic Novel Challenge

RED ROCKET 7

WRITER & ARTIST: Mike Allred

IMAGE, 2008

Red_Rocket_7_HCI’m not in a very good mood this morning but I’ll try not to let that influence this mini-review.  I’m a big fan of Mike Allred’s work especially his MADMAN series and his wild, 60’s ‘pop’ art style.

Sadly, I did not like this book so much.

I remember when this series was first published.  I saw it on the stands, picked it up, leafed through it and put it back.  Even then I felt it wasn’t for me.  The basic story is a blend of Science Fiction, Rock Music, History and Soap Opera.  An alien lands on earth (in a “red rocket”) underwater where, while he’s unconscious, his robot sidekick makes 6 clones of him (all with a number on their head from 2 to 7).  The clones make their way out to the world and we follow the…

View original post 460 more words

About Sam Gafford
My name is Sam Gafford and I've been doing critical work on William Hope Hodgson for many years. I wrote the article "Writing Backwards: The Novels of William Hope Hodgson" in which I presented evidence that WHH wrote his novels in the reverse order in which they were published. I've recently written an article on Hodgson's confrontation with Houdini and am currently working on a book length study of WHH.

Leave a Reply

