What Comic Books Meant to Me

Lordshazam's Bloggedy Blog Blog

Pulp_Comics_Newsstand_1940s_SmMy family moved around a lot when I was a kid.

That’s just the way it was.  On the average, we probably moved about once a year.  I could go on about how that affected me and how it probably contributed to my depression and being an introvert, but that’s not the point of today’s post.

Every time we moved, the very first thing I would do was scope out where I could find new comic books.

I’d get on my bike and ride around all day, just scouting out locations.  You see, back in the early 70s (when I and dinosaurs were young), there were no such things as “comic book stores”.  You had to take your comics wherever you could find them.

Back then, we had these things called ‘stationery stores’.  Now, that doesn’t meant that they were stuck in one place and couldn’t go anywhere.  These were…

View original post 472 more words

About Sam Gafford
My name is Sam Gafford and I've been doing critical work on William Hope Hodgson for many years. I wrote the article "Writing Backwards: The Novels of William Hope Hodgson" in which I presented evidence that WHH wrote his novels in the reverse order in which they were published. I've recently written an article on Hodgson's confrontation with Houdini and am currently working on a book length study of WHH.

Leave a Reply

